Changes to parliamentary boundaries across the West Oxfordshire District to come into effect for next General Election

07 FEB 2024

election image

The Boundary Commission for England has completed a review of Parliamentary constituencies which will impact communities in the West Oxfordshire District at the next General Election. 

Changes to the Parliamentary boundaries mean that West Oxfordshire District will now form part of three parliamentary constituencies, rather than the one it currently does. 

Witney Constituency 

Approximately 55,500 voters from West Oxfordshire District Council and 19,000 voters from the Vale of White Horse District Council area will form the new Witney Constituency led by the Acting Returning Officer and Electoral Registration Officer for West Oxfordshire in conjunction with the Electoral Registration Officer for the relevant Vale of White Horse District ward areas. The district wards affected within West Oxfordshire and Vale of White Horse are listed below: 

Alvescot and Filkins Ascott and Shipton Bampton and Clanfield 
Brize Norton and Shilton Burford Carterton North East 
Carterton North West Carterton South Ducklington 
Hailey, Minster Lovell and Leafield Milton under Wychwood Standlake, Aston and Stanton Harcourt 
Witney Central Witney East Witney North 
Witney South Witney West   
New to the Witney Constituency: 
Faringdon Kingston Bagpuize Thames 
Watchfield and Shrivenham   

Maps can be found via the links below: 

Witney Constituency:

Banbury Constituency:

Bicester and Woodstock Constituency:

Every constituency must contain between 69,724 and 77,062 electors. The number of constituencies in England has increased from 533 to 543.